cabinet ophtalmo bordeaux Prendre rendez-vous Book an appointment

Diabetic retinopathy


Description:

Diabetic retinopathy is one of the possible complications of diabetes, and reflects general lesions. Its evolution can lead to complete blindness if not treated properly.

Retinopathy can appear after a few years of diabetes and will be aggravated by factors such as the duration people have had diabetes for and its poor balance, arterial hypertension, tobacco, cholesterol and triglycerides.

Diabetic retinopathy has several stages of growing seriousness. It is characterized by lesions affecting retinal capillaries causing a retinal oedema, haemorrhage and the proliferation of abnormal blood vessels.

Symptoms:

Retinophotography of diabetic retinopathy
Retinophotography of diabetic retinopathy
At the beginning of a diabetic retinopathy, the patient experiences no symptoms and the vision is preserved. A yearly fundus examination is necessary to detect the disease in this early stage and evaluate its potential general impact. At the next stage, a brutal or gradual loss of visual acuity signals the appearance of complications of variable gravity such as a macular oedema which impedes central vision, intravitreous haemorrhage or retinal detachment.

Fundus examination coupled with retinophotography is the main examination allowing to detect diabetic retinopathy at its various stages or the presence of a macular oedema (central) in order to guide the treatment.
Macular Oedema in OCT
Macular Oedema in OCT
A macular OCT (Optical Coherence Tomography) allows to identify a macular oedema and to follow its response to the treatment.
Angiography of a proliferating diabetic angiography
Angiography of a proliferating diabetic angiography
View Video
Fluorescein angiography (fundus photography coupled with the injection of a fluorescent colorant) will look for potential macular or peripheral ischemia and will guide the laser treatment.

Treatment:

Retinophotography of impacts from laser photocoagulation
Retinophotography of impacts from laser photocoagulation
In parallel to restoring the balance of diabetes and arterial hypertension, the treatment of diabetic retinopathy consists of treating the affected areas of the eye by laser. Some complications will need surgery.

At an early stage, diabetic retinopathy requires no specific treatment. However, a strict control and balance of diabetes and of other risk factors such as arterial hypertension and lipid profile are necessary to control its progression.

At a later stage, various treatments are required:
- Laser photocoagulation: several sessions spaced at various intervals depending on the condition’s seriousness. This treatment aims at destroying non-vascularized ischemic areas in the peripheral retina, in order to allow a better blood irrigation of central retina and thus avoid the development of abnormal vessels or newvessels (which might cause a retinal detachment or intraocular haemorrhage).
- Laser is also used to treat localised macular oedema.

For these different treatments we benefit from last generation multisport micropulse lasers, which are quicker, more comfortable and more efficient.
- Intraocular injections of corticoids or anti-VEGF in case of a generalized macular oedema. Repeated injections are often necessary.
- In case of a tractionnal macular oedema causing intravitreous haemorrhage or in case of a retinal detachment, the prescribed treatment is surgery (posterior vitrectomy).

Links:

cabinet ophtalmo bordeaux Prendre rendez-vous Prendre rendez-vous

La rétinopathie diabétique


Description :

La rétinopathie diabétique est une des complications du diabète, elle est le reflet de lésions généralisées. L’évolution insidieuse peut conduire à la cécité en l’absence de traitement.

La rétinopathie peut apparaître après quelques années d’évolution avec des facteurs aggravant tels que l’ancienneté et le mauvais équilibre du diabète, l’hypertension artérielle, le tabagisme, des troubles du cholestérol et des triglycérides.

La rétinopathie diabétique comporte plusieurs stades de gravité croissante. Elle est caractérisée par des lésions qui touchent les capillaires rétiniens qui seront responsables d'œdème rétinien, d'hémorragies et de la prolifération de vaisseaux anormaux.

Symptômes :

Rétinophotographie de rétinopathie diabétique
Rétinophotographie de rétinopathie diabétique
Au début de la rétinopathie diabétique, aucun symptôme n’est ressenti par le patient, la vision est conservée. Un fond d’œil annuel systématique est nécessaire pour dépister ces stades précoces et évaluer le possible retentissement général de cette maladie. A un stade évolué, une baisse de la vision brutale ou progressive témoigne de l’apparition des complications de gravité variable tels que l’œdème maculaire qui fait baisser la vision centrale, l’hémorragie intra vitréenne ou le décollement de rétine.

Le fond d’œil complété par une rétinophotographie est le principal examen de dépistage permettant de repérer les différents stades de rétinopathie diabétique ou la présence d’œdème maculaire (central) pour orienter son traitement
Œdème maculaire en OCT
Œdème maculaire en OCT
Une OCT (Tomographie par cohérence optique) maculaire permet de rechercher un œdème maculaire et de suivre la réponse au traitement.
Angiographie de rétinopathie diabétique proliférante
Angiographie de rétinopathie diabétique proliférante
View Video
Une angiographie à la fluorescéine (photographie du fond d’œil avec injection d’un colorant fluorescent) va être réalisée pour la recherche d’ischémie maculaire ou périphérique et orienter le traitement par laser.

Traitement :

Rétinophotographie d’impacts de photo coagulation laser
Rétinophotographie d’impacts de photo coagulation laser
Outre l'équilibration du diabète et de l’hypertension artérielle, le traitement de la rétinopathie diabétique consiste à traiter les zones pathologiques au laser. Certaines complications nécessitent une intervention chirurgicale.

Au stade précoce, la rétinopathie diabétique ne nécessite aucun traitement spécifique. Un équilibre strict du diabète ainsi que des autres facteurs de risque cardiovasculaires comme l’hypertension artérielle et le bilan lipidique sont en revanche indispensables pour limiter sa progression.

Au stade évolué, différents traitements sont réalisés
- Une photocoagulation au laser en plusieurs séances à intervalles variables en fonction de la gravité de la rétinopathie. Ce traitement vise à détruire les zones ischémiques non vascularisées de la rétine périphérique pour permettre une meilleure irrigation de la rétine centrale et éviter le développement de vaisseaux anormaux ou néo vaisseaux qui évolueraient vers un décollement de rétine ou une hémorragie intra oculaire.
- Le laser est aussi utilisé pour traiter un oedeme maculaire localisé.

Nous disposons pour ces différents traitement d’un laser de dernière génération multi spot micro pulse beaucoup plus rapide confortable et efficace
- Les injections intraoculaires de corticoïdes ou d’antiVEGF en cas d’œdème maculaire diffus. Des injections répétées sont souvent nécessaires.
- La chirurgie avec vitrectomie postérieure est indiquée en cas d’œdème maculaire tractionnel d’hémorragie intra vitréenne ou le décollement de rétine.

Liens :